Upcoming Releases

History Books
The Gaslight Anthem History Books Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, July 23, 2023 - 12:39
submitted by

Not long after having released their comeback single “Positive Charge,” The Gaslight Anthem have announced their new album, History Books, will be out October 27 via Rich Mahogany. The band shared the title track featuring fellow New Jerseyan Bruce Springsteen.

“When Bruce Springsteen said I should write a duet for us, I think my head exploded,” The Gaslight Anthem’s frontman Brian Fallon. “It will never get old to me that one of the greatest songwriters in the world, and one of my hero’s voices, will forever be captured in a song I wrote at a small wooden desk, in October, in New Jersey. When you have a band reach any level of success or popularity, that’s a gift. It’s truly a miracle to be able to do your art for a living. Having the band come this far and be able to still find inspiration and connection in our music is a treasure. We’re thrilled to be back, and we thank our fans for allowing us time to regroup. None of us wanted to make a very somber or serious record showing how much we’ve matured. We’ve all changed and grown and learned so much, but the overall mood was a feeling of excitement to be back together and making music that means something to us."

History Books is the Gaslight Anthem’s sixth full-length, following 2014’s Get Hurt; it is also their first release on Rich Mahogany (the album will be distributed by Thirty Tigers). The LP was produced by Peter Katis—who has worked with the National and Kurt Vile—at Tarquin Studios in Bridgeport,


History Books track list:

  1. Spider Bites
  2. History Books [Ft. Bruce Springsteen]
  3. Autumn
  4. Positive Charge
  5. Michigan, 1975
  6. Little Fires
  7. The Weatherman
  8. Empires
  9. I Live in the Room Above Her
  10. A Lifetime of Preludes