Upcoming Releases

Death Is Nothing To Us
Fiddlehead Death Is Nothing To Us Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, June 8, 2023 - 21:22
submitted by

Fiddlehead are back! Today the post-hardcore heroes have announced their upcoming third full-length, Death Is Nothing To Us, due out August 18th via Run For Cover Records (pre-order). The album finds Fiddlehead completing the thematic trilogy that began with their previous two releases, resulting in a truly special album that feels like both a culmination of the band's work so far, and one of the years most powerful and life-affirming rock records. Death Is Nothing To Us is Fiddlehead's most dynamic set of songs to date, with every track pushing further into the melodic and aggressive poles of their sound, all while vocalist Pat Flynn tackles difficult existential themes with an open-heartedness that comes through in every word.

To celebrate the announcement, Fiddlehead have shared "Sullenboy" the towering first single from Death Is Nothing To Us. The track captures everything that makes Fiddlehead so great, blending together the unabashed heart of Revolution Summer emo with the hooks of '90s alternative, and delivering the amalgam with the intangible energy that comes from their roots in hardcore.

The release of Fiddlehead's sophomore album, Between The Richness, drew praise from fans and critics alike (including Pitchfork, Stereogum, The FADER, Billboard, SPIN, BrooklynVegan, Paste, and many more), and saw the band unexpectedly becoming one of the most vital groups in rock music today. On Death Is Nothing To Us, Flynn delves deeper than ever into the nuances of loss and sadness, but his deeply vulnerable approach is exhilarating and often even joyous in its humanity. "I don’t want people to romanticize grief and depression, myself included,” he explains. “But I wanted to write about the way loss can perpetuate this feeling of sadness in your life. I didn’t intend to make some kind of thematic trilogy but there is this connection to the first two records, and this album sort of rounds out some of the stages of grief that weren’t addressed previously–especially this feeling of stickiness that a depressive attitude can have.” The lyrics on Death Is Nothing To Us attempt to reject the allure of sorrow with a deftness and intensity that's matched by Fiddlehead's music, creating one of the most undeniably compelling albums you'll here this year.


Death Is Nothing To Us track list:

  1. The Deathlife
  2. Sleepyhead
  3. Loserman
  4. True Hardcore (II)
  5. Welcome to the Situation
  6. Sullenboy
  7. Give It Time (II)
  8. Queen of Limerick
  9. The Woes
  10. Fiddleheads
  11. Fifteen To Infinity
  12. Going To Die