Upcoming Releases

The Darling Fire Distortions Punk Rock Theory
Friday, June 3, 2022 - 13:42
submitted by

After enduring crushing sorrow, loss, and personal grief, The Darling Fire return with their sophomore release 'Distortions,' out September 16 via Iodine Recordings (pre-order).

The album is a dark and pensive journey comprised of 10 tracks that encapsulate beauty and pain, seamlessly combining elements of shoegaze, post-hardcore, and metal into a DNA-distinct blend. Ethereal, almost ghostly female vocals float above a pounding wall of sound. The end result is an album that is bleak, somber, and enchanting.

Fans will find Distortions to be a significant departure from the band’s previous LP Dark Celebration. The new material is abrasive, gloomy, and brooding. There's also a more potent metallic influence. The band felt that new, aggressive direction more accurately portrayed the sadness, rage, and pain they felt and that it balanced the hypnotizing softness of Jolie Lindholm's vocals. The push and pull style combines the haunting nature of My Bloody Valentine as much as The Deftones. "It felt like a natural evolution for us to go in this direction — to create more movement…" says Lindholm.

The vast collective experience of each member of The Darling Fire is exceptional by any standard. Its members previously played with Shai Hulud, Further Seems Forever, The Rocking Horse Winner, As Friends Rust, and Strongarm. They worked with producer Jay Maas (Defeater, Title Fight, Bane) in the studio, furthering the band's impressive pedigree.

The album reverberates with a fascinating look at what's real and what might… not be real. "I've had very specific dreams and nightmares throughout my life that I still remember very vividly," Lindholm says. "A dream can blur the line between what is and isn't real. At times, we may wake from a good dream and want to fall back into it; or, we tell ourselves to wake from a nightmare, only to realize what's happening on this plane is stranger than the one we just left."


Distortions track list:

  1. Machina
  2. Heart Will Stop
  3. Clean Hands
  4. Downer
  5. Amber
  6. Hers
  7. Perigee
  8. Rituals
  9. Samsara
  10. Legless