Upcoming Releases

A Legacy Of Rentals
Craig Finn A Legacy Of Rentals Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, March 27, 2022 - 21:05
submitted by

 Craig Finn has announced the release of his eagerly awaited new album. The Hold Steady frontman’s fifth solo LP, A LEGACY OF RENTALS arrives on CD and digital download via Positive Jams/Thirty Tigers on Friday, May 20. The album will be available in several formats, including CD, standard vinyl, and limited-edition white vinyl (online orders only).

Recorded in May 2021 with Finn’s longtime collaborators, producer Josh Kaufman and engineer D. James Goodwin, A LEGACY OF RENTALS is heralded by the first song, “Messing With The Settings,” available now at all DSPs and streaming services.

“Memory is a major theme through A LEGACY OF RENTALS,” says Finn, “and I wanted the first song on the record to open on that note. This song is literally a eulogy. It’s delivered by someone who has lost touch with the recently deceased but still finds them important. Musically, it really explores the line between talking and singing, which was something we leaned into on this record. We wanted to make this song an incantation of sorts. It also features the beautiful 14-piece string section that played on a lot of these songs. I wanted to it have a cinematic feel, like Gone With The Wind or something like that.”

A LEGACY OF RENTALS sees Finn exploring memory – how we remember our loved ones, the places in our lives that have changed, and recent events that are part of our pasts. Written over the course of 2020, the album explores the line between song and straight storytelling, with contributions from frequent musical partners including saxophonist Stuart Bogie, backing vocalists Cassandra Jenkins and Annie Nero, and the rhythm section of Joe Russo (drums) and Michael Libramento (bass). It also features a 14-piece string section arranged and recorded by Trey Pollard at Spacebomb bringing a drama and grandiose elegance that sets the album apart from anything in Finn’s previous body of work.

“The title A LEGACY OF RENTALS acknowledges that we can never completely hold any of our possessions,” Finn says, “and that our bodies are merely a temporary residence for our souls. All moments are fleeting. After the destruction of the past few years, I believe that there is joy in each and every living action, however mundane – walking to the kitchen, missing a train, spilling coffee, cleaning it up, meeting a friend for a meal. We all want to be remembered. We all want our time here to be consequential. In taking these daily actions, we engage in hope, and we guarantee our unique place in history.”


A Legacy Of Rentals track list:

  1. Messing With The Settings
  2. The Amarillo Kid
  3. Birthdays
  4. The Year We Fell Behind
  5. Due To Depart
  6. Curtis & Shepard
  7. Never Any Horses
  8. Jessamine
  9. A Break From The Barrage
  10. This Is What It Looks Like