Upcoming Releases

Last Building Burning
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 17:34
submitted by

Today, the Cleveland four-piece Cloud Nothings is back to announce their fifth full-length studio album, Last Building Burning to be released October 19th via Carpark Records (US) / Wichita Recordings (EU). The new album is a culmination of the development of frontman Dylan Baldi's ever-changing sound, following up 2017's Life Without Sound with a new record that sees the band continue to outdo themselves and solidify themselves as a stalwart in modern rock music.

Recorded in just eight days at Texas studio Sonic Ranch with producer Randall Dunn (Sunn O))),Wolves In The Throne Room , Boris, Marissa Nadler) weighing in at just over thirty minutes it’s a singular listen that reflects the band’s live tenacity - one that sees them surge through the tracks at a speed hitherto unseen on previous outings - the perfect antidote to 2017’s Life Without Sound.

As frontman Dylan Baldi explains; “I wrote this because I felt there weren’t too many rock bands doing what we are right now. A lot of other bands sound great but it’s missing a heaviness I like.” That coupled with the idea of “capturing the energy of the moment” resulted in Last Building Burning – seven short volleys and one long salvo of intense, controlled chaos  highlighting their barbed, rapid-fire, energetic rock  referencing past like-minded artists whilst all-the-while making it their own.

Despite veering away for the pop sensibilities of Life Without Sound and looking to perpetually outdo themselves as they move forward they retain a link with their past, Another Way Of Life hints at the harmonies of Life Without Sound whilst On An Edge recalls the blistering peaks on 2014’s Here and Nowhere Else album. Almost a decade in age, Cloud Nothings have become a reference point, a focus and creating their own brand of rock : gritty, caustic and tireless – Last Building Burning captures their insatiable appetite for raw, live energy and continues to witness a band on a positive trajectory.


Track listing:

  1. On An Edge
  2. Leave Him Now
  3. In Shame
  4. Offer An End
  5. The Echo Of The World
  6. Dissolution
  7. So Right So Clean
  8. Another Way Of Life