Upcoming Releases

Home Made Satan
Chastity Home Made Satan Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, June 27, 2019 - 16:06
submitted by
Whitby, Ontario's Chastity announces their sophomore album and shares the first single off the record. Home Made Satan is due September 13th via Captured Tracks and includes brand new track "Sun Poisoning." The single is about the contradictory melancholy that often comes with the vulnerability of a new relationship, capturing the juxtaposition of feeling both joy and sadness simultaneously. The raucous visual features an adolescent angel and devil trying to open up to each other amidst the masked and made-up weirdos surrounding them at a Halloween party. The visual was shot at a mansion in the suburbs of Toronto's High Park and features Holden Abraham, Damian Abraham of Fucked Up's son. 
Frontman Brandon Williams shares how the song came together, "I wrote a song called 'Sun Poisoning' in 2013, and Kacey Musgraves provoked inspiration in me to bring this back, her lyric 'happy and sad at the same time'. A classic songwriter trope, melancholy, but in my adaptation I wanted to express the feeling of trying to smile when you know your teeth are bleeding. 'Do you want to see how easily my teeth bleed?'"
Home Made Satan, the second installment of a building trilogy, brings a pop sensibility to the band's catalog following their acclaimed 2018 debut Death LustRecorded over the course of a couple weeks with his full live band in a small studio in London, Ontario, between a European tour with Fucked Up and a seven-week North American tour, Williams crafted an emotional and political concept record meant to capture voices that often go unrepresented. The album was cultivated by isolation and the paranoia that comes with it, with Williams producing the album like he would score a film, aiming to match the sounds on the album to the vision in his mind.

Track listing:

  1. Flames
  2. Dead Relatives
  3. Spirit Meetup
  4. Sun Poisoning
  5. Anxiety
  6. Last Year's Lust
  7. Bliss
  8. The Girls I Know Don't Think So
  9. I Still Feel The Same
  10. Strife