Mercy Music announce new album and share first single 'Living With A Ghost'
Mercy Music announce new album and share first single 'Living With A Ghost'
Thursday, July 16, 2020 - 16:21
submitted by

Las Vegas, NV punk/pop punk trio Mercy Music have just announced their forthcoming new album titled “Nothing In the Dark” out this September via Wiretap Records (US) and SBAM Records (EU). To celebrate the occasion, we are sharing the first single off the album 'Living With A Ghost,' which arrives digitally this coming Friday July 17th. Watch the video for the song below.

For Mercy Music’s third full-length album, the band (vocalist/guitarist Brendan Scholz, bassist Jarred Cooper, and drummer Rye Martin) found an understanding ear with Alkaline Trio/Motörhead producer Cameron Webb, and were finally able to make an album that focuses the band’s many strengths down to a smoldering point.

“There’s literally no bullshit in there. We were (in the studio) for five days and we got everything done,” Scholz says. “It’s probably the record we’re most proud of, ‘cause it’s done the way we wanted to do it, and it’s the most cohesive, sound-wise.”

In addition to enlisting a producer who has plenty of experience honing the sound of both poppy and pummeling power trios, Scholz said the album also finds cohesion in subject matter. “2019 was a rocky year, and the record sums it up,” he says. All 10 songs address personal matters Scholz simply refers to as “adulthood.”

Since forming in 2014, Mercy Music has toured Europe, appeared at top U.S. festivals such as South By Southwest, Punk Rock Bowling and Life is Beautiful, and shared the stage with legendary acts such as Face to Face, Flogging Molly, Against Me!, The Offspring and Bob Mould. But with the release of Nothing in the Dark, Mercy Music is sure to find new standing in the world of, well, whatever music genre you want to call it. Just call it Mercy Music.