Kevin Devine Releases Devinyl Splits Vol. I
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 - 18:31
submitted by

Kevin Devine has announced Devinyl Splits Vol. I, the digital compilation of his first Devinyl Splits series. The album comes out today via Bad Timing Records, and is available on all digital platforms. 

Since early 2015, Kevin Devine has been unveiling his Devinyl Splits Series, a six-7" series featuring Devine teaming up with a different partner every release. So far, the series has included Devine and Matthew Caws of Nada Surf covering each other's songs, Devine and Meredith Graves of Perfect Pussy each recording an intimate original song (the first solo song ever released from Graves), Devine and Tigers Jaw each taking on a song by The Cure, Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band releasing their first new song since Bubblegum, while Cymbals Eat Guitars released their first new song since Lose on Devinyl Splits No. 4, and Devine and Owen each contributing a beautiful acoustic original on Devinyl Splits No. 5. The final split featured Jesse Lacey of Brand New, with both artists covering R.E.M songs. All six performers appeared at the unique & sold-out Devinyl Splits performances Devinyl curated in December in Brooklyn, Philadelphia, and Boston.

All six splits are now available to purchase together as the digital compilation Devinyl Splits Vol. I. All of the splits can also be purchased individually on vinyl via Bad Timing Records


Devinyl Splits Vol. I tracklisting:

1. Matthew Caws - Fiscal Cliff (Kevin Devine cover)
2. Kevin Devine - Inside Of Love (Nada Surf cover)
3. Meredith Graves - Took The Ghost To The Movies
4. Kevin Devine - Gießen
5. Tigers Jaw - In Between Days (The Cure cover)
6. Kevin Devine - Love Song (The Cure cover)
7. Cymbals Eat Guitars - Aerobed
8. Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band - Magic Magnet
9. Owen - Critical Condition
10. Kevin Devine - No One Says You Have To
11. Jesse Lacey - Bad Day (R.E.M. cover)
12. Kevin Devine - Imitation Of Life (R.E.M. cover)