Album Reviews

Super Thief - Stuck
Monday, June 12, 2017 - 16:14
submitted by

‘The fight against routine. Stuck. Trying to make the commute on I-35. Stuck. The piece of gum underneath the movie seat you’re sitting in? Well, that’s stuck too. The cycle. The routine.’

That’s what Super Thief have to say about their newest release, the nearly impenetrable “Stuck”. Throughout ten songs, this Austin-based outfit deals in noisy outburst that constantly border on becoming completely unhinged, peppered with plenty dissonant guitars, pummeling drums, unexpected hints of melody and vocals that seem intent on punishing you.


If you appreciate  the releases by labels like Amphetamine Reptile and Touch & Go from back in the day, then you are guaranteed to… well, enjoy doesn’t really seem like the right word but yeah…. Enjoy “Stuck”, a release that has as much to do with Shellac as it does with The Jesus Lizard. It might hurt, but fuck… this is friggin’ good stuff.


Track listing:

  1. i don't know about you or your band
  2. ms. wakefield
  3. new no. 1
  4. books w/ no pages    
  5. feet on the trap / head in the noose
  6. liberosis (i tried to tell you)
  7. sheepsquid
  8. full metal nixon
  9. scrape the paint
  10. k-hole :/



Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.