Album Reviews

Sick Things
Sick Things Sick Things Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, September 1, 2018 - 16:46
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

In a time where every other band plays post-whatever or a combination of at least five different styles, it’s refreshing to hear some good old-fashioned rock ‘n roll songs. Enter Sick Things.

On their self-titled album, this Montreal-based band knocks eleven rock meets power-pop songs out of the park with seeming ease. It’s a whirlwind of big choruses, long hair flying every which way, even bigger hooks, blazing guitars and huge friggin’ solos that seem to materialize out of thin air every 15 seconds or so. And don’t even get me started on the Thin Lizzy-esque dual guitar leads… I finally managed to get rid of the big, dumb smile I had plastered on my face while listening to this album.

Think Kiss, Cheap Trick and Thin Lizzy… you’ll get the idea. Or simply listen to ‘We Got It Figured Out,’ which sums up what Sick Things is about in the best of ways. We got it figured out? Yeah, that sounds about right. Now, if only we could get some more cowbell going in these songs.


Track listing:

  1. Take the Head from the Crown    
  2. Boogaloser    
  3. Sick Thing    
  4. Empty Castles    
  5. I've Got News For You    
  6. We Got It Figured Out    
  7. Ain't Got Time    
  8. You Oughta Know    
  9. Maybe You Better    
  10. Love Sick    
  11. Dog Days
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.