Album Reviews

Liebe Frau Gesangsverein Nackt
Saturday, March 10, 2018 - 16:45
submitted by

Ever heard of deutsche gründlichkeit? Germany’s Liebe Frau Gesangsverein has only been a band for a little over a year, yet here they are already with a debut album. And what’s even more impressive, there is a helluva lot to enjoy on 'Nackt'.


LIebe Frau Gesangsverein play punkrock with indie tendencies and poppy melodies, which leads to punchy tunes like opener ‘Es tut mir leid’ and the… well, even punchier ‘Hier sein ist so schwer’. The band’s secret weapon however comes in the form of vocalist Ricarda Giefer, who can go from sounding sweet to powerful in the blink of an eye. I’m not sure if they will take this as a compliment or not, but I had to think of Nena a couple of times. Then again, that might just be due to my nearly non-existent knowledge of German bands with female vocalists. Either way, there is not helluva lot wrong with album highlights like ‘Rückwärts Verlieben’ and the more midtempo ‘Watt’.


Lyrically, I can’t really tell you what’s going on because other than a couple of lines here and there, I don’t really understand a lot. Hey, what do you expect… I’m only half German! Maybe a little more variety would have made this album even better. I mean, midtempo tunes like ‘Lunapark’ and the abovementioned ‘Watt’ are a great place to start, but I’d love to hear them take their sound even further next time around. But for now, ‘Nackt’ is already one seriously accomplished debut.


Track listing:

  1. Es tut mir leid
  2. Erfunden
  3. Für immer wieder
  4. Hier sein ist so schwer
  5. Letzten Mal
  6. Lunapark
  7. Schwarzes Brett
  8. Rückwärts verlieben
  9. Watt
  10. Nächtliche Gespenster