Album Reviews

Destined For Disaster
Mini Meltdowns Destined For Disaster Punk Rock Theory
Friday, October 25, 2019 - 13:38
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Because of the big bright melodies and overall sunny disposition on Mini Meltdowns’ ‘Destined For Disaster,’ you’d never know that frontman Jon Phillip (Limbeck, Tommy Stinson,…) had a pretty shitty 2018. After having relocated to Nashville, Phillip found himself dealing with the sudden loss of his father as well as some relationships that turned out toxic. This led to almost crippling anxiety that he had to work through.

Well okay, I guess maybe the band name, EP title and song titles like ‘I Wanna Die’ and ‘You Bring Me Down’ should have been pretty obvious clues that not everything was fine and dandy. Musically though, this is highly melodic punk rock meets power-pop that made me think of Geoff Palmer. Which is never a bad thing. For this EP, Phillip could count on the help of Mike Kennerty from the All-American Rejects who produced, mixed and recorded this release while Scott Schoenbeck (the Promise Ring and Dashboard Confessional) came in with a load of nifty bass parts. Good stuff!


Track listing:

  1. Gonna Miss You    
  2. I Wanna Die    
  3. Afraid Of Everything    
  4. You Bring Me Down


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.