Album Reviews

L.A.'s Got Me Down
Justus Proffit L.A.'s Got Me Down Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, March 9, 2019 - 12:06
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Fresh off the collaborative EP he released with Jay Som’s Melina Mae Duterte, Justus Proffit has now released his debut full-length, ‘L.A.’s Got Me Down’. Having been around the LA music scene since the age of 13 and a lifer by the age of 25, Proffit deals in the kind of songs that are seeped in sadness, drenched in melancholy and which come with an air of almost effortless cool. 

Sounding not unlike the earlier work of Elliott Smith, Proffit’s songs have a lo-fi quality about them that still allows the melodies to shine bright even if he is singing about subjects that are anything but. Covering everything from his own personal demons to friends dying of an overdose, ‘L.A.’s Got Me Down’ could have easily been a bit of a downer. But that’s not taking into account Proffit’s ability to find and bring out the beauty in the sadness.


Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Shadow Of The Cross
  3. Solidified
  4. Hole
  5. Painted In The Sound
  6. You
  7. Laughing On The Inside
  8. Big Room Melt Decay
  9. Split Into
  10. Closed View