Album Reviews

All Eyes West – Doomer
Sunday, February 8, 2015 - 15:47
submitted by

For their sophomore album Chicago’s All Eyes West teamed up with J. Robbins.  Comprised of Jeff Dean (The Bomb, Noise By Numbers), Justin Miller (Witch Feet) and Tucker Rule (Thursday, who filled in on the album but has now been replaced by Ronnie DiCola), All Eyes West bring a lot of experience to the table, something that shines through in the confidence with which they crank out the twelve songs that make up “Doomer”.

Even though these guys are definitely influenced by punk, the songs on this album are straight-up songs that don’t sound all that different from what Bob Mould, Samiam or early Foo Fighters would come up with. All of them have a nice full sound that is both warm and raw at the same time with snappy riffs, a rumbling bass that holds down the low end and the dynamic drumming courtesy of Rule. Add some hoarse, shouted vocals with just the right amount of catchy hooks and you are looking at a damn fine collection of tunes that range from the urgent “Lie In Wait” and “Echo Echo” to the slightly poppier “Make The Morning”.

Not sure why the album ends with a guy snoring his way through the gentle sounds of a piano though… I felt completely energized by “Doomer”!

Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.