Upcoming Releases

Torch Songs
Ways Away Torch Songs Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, August 25, 2022 - 08:25
submitted by

Los Angeles-based band Ways Away have announced their sophomore album, Torch Songs, set for release October 14th on Other People Records. Produced and mixed by Beau Burchell (Saosin) and mastered by Mike Kalajian at Rogue Planet, the eleven tracks on the record pack a punch, from fast, gritty punk tracks to more melodic numbers. The band gave fans an early taste with the standalone single “Never Mind The Dog” and today they share the guitar-driven song “(I’m Not) Laughing With You”.

Ways Away’s members pack a notable rock resume, comprised of guitarist Sergie Loobkoff (Samiam, Knapsack, Racquet Club), vocalist/guitarist Jesse Barnett (Stick to Your Guns, Wish You Were Here), drummer Jared Shavelson (BoySetsFire, The Hope Conspiracy), and bassist Ian Smith (Racquet Club). The band made their debut in 2020 with their Ways Away LP and build upon their storied sound on the upcoming Torch Songs album. The record explores themes of anti-capitalism and living in the current state of the world, as well as approaching more personal moments about love and loss.


Torch Songs track list:

  1. I Got Low
  2. (I'm Not) Laughing With You
  3. Heaven's Lathe
  4. Never Mind The Dog
  5. Happy With What I Have
  6. No Chance In Hell
  7. The Only Living Boy In LA
  8. Easy Fix
  9. Burn Me Out
  10. Pink Kerosene
  11. Roll Back To You