Upcoming Releases

There Were Wires
There Were Wires There Were Wires Punk Rock Theory
Monday, April 10, 2023 - 15:38
submitted by

IODINE RECORDINGS will be re-releasing There Were Wires' self-titled debut on Friday, May 12. It marks the first time the classic and influential record will be available in 20 years. It's also the first time it will be released on vinyl.

Unlikely but overwilling, the embryonic form of Boston's There Were Wires traversed every basement, rec hall, and dive club in the city to blow out speakers and vocal chords alike with their explosive brand of hardcore punk. Their blend of harshly emotive dissonance and punchy, anthemic songs pulled inspiration from bands like Converge, Portraits of Past, and Unbroken. Though it's true that TWW live shows were a powder keg of chaos, the true gooey center of the band revealed an honest vulnerability that belied the tough crowd of contemporaries, which gained them a small but devoted cult following in the New England scene. The band's debut self titled LP is being pressed for the first time on vinyl and has been completely remixed by Kurt Ballou (Converge) at God City Studios, and includes several out of print B-Sides and the band's 1999 demo. It will be available on two limited color variants! Members of TWW went on to form Disappearer, Doomriders, and No Flowers


There Were Wires track list:

  1. Lukewarm Happy
  2. Prepare for Collapse
  3. Instinctually Dumb
  4. The Physics of Air Hockey
  5. Stop Motion Aesthetic
  6. Fat With Glasses
  7. Commotion Strange
  8. The Hours
  9. Bigger and Better Things
  10. It Will Be Better Than the Rest of Your Life
  11. Cru Jones
  12. +1999 Demo