Upcoming Releases

Steps Ascending
Thursday, April 25, 2024 - 16:35
submitted by

Over two years in the making, Long Island’s Stand Still is excited to announce the debut full-length, Steps Ascending, set for release June 14th through DAZE. Having teased with the title track and “Mysticism” earlier this year, today the band shares new single "In the Dying Light of a Setting Sun.” On the track, the band sticks true to their emotionally driven melodic hardcore, while also generating some of their heaviest material yet. The video for the song, directed by Tom Flynn, packs the high energy of Stand Still’s live performance with the figure on the album artwork coming to life.

On the track’s lyrics, vocalist Gerry Windus states: “The "setting sun" in this track is one's lifespan running short, and the "dying light" describes the remains of one's motivation to live a fulfilling life. These lyrics describe my personal struggle to capture the childlike imagination that surrounded my early creative years while lacking the drive of a younger version of myself, a drive that I am well aware I may never get back.”

The record was produced and mixed by Greg Thomas at Silver Bullet Studios, with additional mixing by Chris Teti, and mastered by Kris Crummett at Interlace Audio. Steps Ascending is available for preorder now through DAZE and you can find the artwork and full tracklist below.

Long Island, NY has been a home to melodic hardcore for a long time, citing acts including The Movielife, Silent Majority, and Crime In Stereo as forebears. For the past few years, a myriad of bands have come along to carry on the sound and Stand Still prove to be one of the most exciting of the new wave. Formed in 2020, Stand Still launched with their EP, A Practice In Patience, in 2021. The band followed it up with their second EP, In A Moment’s Notice in 2022, garnering praise from BrooklynVegan, The Alternative, and Distorted Sound.


Steps Ascending track list:

  1. Avoiding the Intersection
  2. In the Dying Light of a Setting Sun
  3. Steps Ascending
  4. In My Blood
  5. Dust (feat Kristian Hallbert of Crime In Stereo)
  6. We Know the Score (feat Michael Smith of Pain Of Truth)
  7. Mysticism
  8. Gridlock Apocalypse
  9. Tower of Gold
  10. Fourth Wall