Upcoming Releases

Sounds of Acceleration
Riot Stares Sounds of Acceleration Punk Rock Theory
Friday, January 13, 2023 - 10:14
submitted by

Riot Stares has dropped “Burst,” the third single from their upcoming album, Sounds of Acceleration, set for release January 20th on DAZE. Living up to its title, the two-minute long track features an explosive mix of vocals and drums, complemented by thick bass lines  The song itself is about a fast car and the video showcases vintage footage detailing what happens upon an impactful collision.

Sounds of Acceleration was recorded and mixed by John Howard at War House Recordings (Ecostrike, Yashira) in Gainesville, FL and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Mindforce, End It) in Portland, OR. It follows the band’s previously released EP’s, Riot Stares (2016) and Let The Phase Speak (2017). Taking just as much influence from bands like Quicksand and Orange 9mm as they do the Beastie Boys, Riot Stares has created a unique sonic style. The ten songs on the record provide a sense of exhilaration, aggressive and vibrant at the same time. As the band puts it, “We were trying to give the sense that you’re stuck in something you don’t have any control of and that everything’s happening fast and you can’t slow it down.”

Following the passing of guitarist Issy Varoumas, Riot Stares has stated the album will be their final release. Sounds of Acceleration is available for CD pre-order via DAZE and digital on Bandcamp.

Riot Stares is Brad Marino (vocals), , Patrick Peck (guitar), Dylan Walker (bass), Tyler Hall (drums), and Issy Varoumas (guitar).


Sounds Of Acceleration track list:

  1. Shockwave
  2. Relief Technique
  3. Trip Chain
  4. Drive
  5. Quick Fix (ft. Chaka Malik)
  6. Try To Spin
  7. Dead Issue
  8. Burst
  9. Flow To The Friction
  10. In Motion