Upcoming Releases

In the Time of the Sabre Tooth Tiger
Power Supply In the Time of the Sabre Tooth Tiger Punk Rock Theory
Friday, September 10, 2021 - 15:07
submitted by

On October 22, Goner Records will release In the Time of the Sabre Tooth Tiger, the debut from Melbourne, Australia Power Supply. The band features Mikey Young (Eddy Current Suppression Ring, Total Control), Leon Stackpole (Sailors, Ooga Boogas), Richard Stanley (Onyas, Drug Sweat) and Per Bystrum (Exhaustion, Voice Imitator). Today they share the first taste of the LP by way of “Infinity.”

After the demise of the Ooga Boogas the band’s Leon Stackpole recorded under the name Leon, a “side project” that quickly became a full time gig. The demand for live shows led Leon to recruit Per from Ooga Boogas and “a guy named Brad” into his touring lineup.

The trio was red hot, but inevitably the venues they filled required a fuller sound so Leon recruited Mikey from Ooga Boogas on second guitar. The gruelling touring schedule became too much for family-man Brad, so Rich from Ooga Boogas jumped in to take his place.

Eventually the question presented itself to this freshly-minted foursome: should they continue as Leon's backing band or strike out anew with a fresh identity? The answer came in a moniker too electrifying to resist; a name as clever, enigmatic and indeed, as powerful as the band itself. Power Supply.

Back in the shed, jams became songs, jokes became lyrics and long afternoons spent together became the forthcoming In the Time of the Sabre Tooth Tiger.


Track listing:

  1. The Land of the Fire
  2. Infinity
  3. PS3
  4. Infinity and 90
  5. I've Got Feelings Too :(
  6. Swimming in a Bathful of Ghosts
  7. Conservative Instincts
  8. Time of the Sabre-Toothed Tiger
  9. Acid Rain