Upcoming Releases

Culture Of Death
Planet On A Chain Culture Of Death Punk Rock Theory
Tuesday, February 6, 2024 - 20:54
submitted by

Planet On A Chain, or POAC for the sake of brevity, is the confluence of members of some of the underground's most dynamic and explosive hardcore and punk bands going back to the late ‘90s. Vocalist Dave Ackerman fronted New Jersey's Tear It Up and Dead Nation, and is backed by members of Bay Area, CA, vets from bands like Dead and Gone, Punch, Look Back and Laugh, Talk Is Poison, and many, many more. Today the band announces Culture Of Death, their second full-length album set for release through longtime home to hardcore - Revelation Records - on April 5th. The record is comprised of twelve fast, raw, hardcore punk tracks that welcome freaks of all walks of life.

Single “Cocalero,” out today, clocks in at a swift one minute, eleven seconds, packing a serious sonic punch and subject matter. As Ackerman states on the lyrics: “I wrote this song after reading a book about the illegal gold trade in South America and the parallels to the cocaine trade. The coca leaf farmers live in poverty. They are under the thumb of the cocaine traffickers to grow the most they can, but also frequently the target of enforcement efforts. They receive the risks of the drug trade without the rewards.”

With Planet On A Chain spread across Texas and California, the music for Culture Of Death was tracked, mixed and mastered with Jack Shirley at Atomic Garden (Paint It Black, Deafheaven) in Oakland, CA and vocals where done in Austin, TX with John Petris at Come and Track It studios. The album follows POAC’s 2022 compilation Deprogram and 2023’s Boxed In, building on their urgent and impactful sound. Culture Of Death is hardcore music played by true lifers who never dropped out and returned only to relive past glory, who have continued to push their own creativity and capabilities for multiple decades. It is hardcore music delivered in the early scene's spirit of playing punk music as fast as humanly possible but with eyes kept firmly on the present and future.


Culture Of Death track list:

  1. We All Fall
  2. Invalidation
  3. Culture Of Death
  4. What You Fear
  5. Kingsnake
  6. About To End
  7. Cocalero
  8. Buried In A Lie
  9. Whole
  10. Single Use
  11. Ready To Strike
  12. Nothing Left