Upcoming Releases

Friend Rock
Newski Friend Rock Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, February 9, 2023 - 18:02
submitted by

On April 7, NEWSKI will release his latest full-length album Friend Rock (pre-order). The album follows Newski's acclaimed album and book It's Hard to be a Person: defeating anxiety, surviving the world, and having more fun.

A revival of 90’s alternative, Wisconsin's lo-fi alternative geek rock outfit NEWSKI outfit  enlists a friend/musical influence on every track for their forthcoming LP.  enlists a friend/musical influence on every track for their forthcoming LP. From veterans like Matthew Caws (Nada Surf), Brian Vander Ark (the Verve Pipe), Ryan Miller (Guster), Miles Nielsen, and Scott Terry (Red Wanting Blue) to overseas acts like H Burns (France), The Secret Beach (Canada) and The Shabs (South Africa), NEWSKI compiles an internationally collaborative album from his own tiny house in Wisconsin.

NEWSKI says, "We are nothing without our friends."

“Most of my friends I started with in music have since retired, which makes me feel like the world has turned and left me here. Collaborating with fellow “musician lifers” on this album made me feel less lonely and insane,” explains NEWSKI. “It’s been neat to become pals with musical heroes from childhood.”

Some of the connections on Friend Rock were made during NEWSKI's podcast "Dirt from the Road," where guest musicians would have a laugh about their worst moments on the road.

Social science research shows community and friendship are consistent common denominators in the happiest countries in the world. Belonging to the right tribe is a catalyst to health and longevity. Friend Rock is an ode to the power of community.

A good friend is hard to find. So when you find those rare gems, you gotta keep them in your life.  

The durable three-piece will hit American, European and South African highways for a 100 date touring year behind the new LP. Featuring Steve "Mr Bicep" Vorass on drums, Sean "Tubs" Anderson on 4-string & Brett Newski on guitars and vocals.


Friend Rock track list:

  1. Freak Flag Fly (feat Magic Charles)
  2. Chemicals (feat Matthew Caws of Nada Surf)
  3. Nevermind, Not Nirvana
  4. Only Macaulay Culkin Can Save Us Now (feat Scott Terry of Red Wanting Blue)
  5. If We're Gonna Breakup, Let's Make it Take Forever (feat Miles Nielsen
  6. Too Much Reality (feat H Burns)
  7. Why Even Bother (feat Brian Vander Ark of The Verve Pipe)
  8. Airplane (feat Ryan Miller of Guster)
  9. Flake Town FOMO is Crushing My Soul (feat the Shabs)
  10. Nevermind, Not Nirvana (feat The Secret Beach)