Upcoming Releases

Hole In My Head
Laura Jane Grace Hole In My Head Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, November 9, 2023 - 21:10
submitted by

Polyvinyl Record Co. and Laura Jane Grace are excited to announce Hole In My Head, the Emmy-nominated artist, author, activist and musician’s first offering since 2021’s At War With The Silverfish. Recorded at Native Sound in St. Louis, MO with David Beeman and mixed by Matt Allison (The Lawrence Arms, Rise Against), Hole In My Head is a sonic curio cabinet containing multitudes — a showcase that features warm, ‘50s rock-influenced guitar riffs, saved-for-later lyrics, love letters to new surroundings, and thoughtful reflections on a punk life lived. Grace’s commanding vocals are backed predominately by her performances on guitar and drums, and bolstered by Drive-By Truckers bassist Matt Patton, whose presence rounds out a full-band sound on over half the album.

Having already revealed the acclaimed fan favorite “Dysphoria Hoodie,” Grace’s raw ode to a particular type of armor, today she offers the title track to the album in the form of a thrilling music video directed by actor and photographer Gilbert Trejo (Machete, From a Son). An exhilarating escape from the mundane nature of our daily lives, “Hole In My Head” is a fuzzed-out and barreling, power-pop ripper that illustrates just how liberating the power of music can be.

A musical force since Against Me!'s debut in the late-’90s and one of Billboard Magazine’s “50 Greatest Rock Lead Singers Of All Time,” punk veteran Laura Jane Grace has never shied away from themes of political commentary, environmentalism, social critique and candid self-exploration. On the forthcoming Hole In My Head, she continues to showcase her songwriting genius across the 11 tracks presented here, issuing an album that captures the nuances of humanity and experience in a strangely optimistic manner. The lightness of its influence, and the journalistic recollection of experience set against a battered and warm folk-punk delivery from beginning to end, makes Hole In My Head a refreshing comfort.


Hole In My Head track list:

  1. Hole In My Head
  2. I'm Not A Cop
  3. Dysphoria Hoodie
  4. Birds Talk Too
  5. Punk Rock In Basements
  6. Cuffing Season
  7. Tacos and Toast
  8. Mercenary
  9. Keeping Your Wheels Straight
  10. Hard Feelings
  11. Give Up The Ghost