Upcoming Releases

Way Out
Good Shade Way Out Punk Rock Theory
Friday, January 11, 2019 - 21:15
submitted by

"Way Out" is the 4th studio full length by Columbus Ohio's Good Shade, and it will be released on February 15th via Dirtnap Records.

The project consists of one member, Shane Natalie, who composes and records all instruments and vocals on the recorded albums but features an array of Columbus musicians who bring the project to life for local and touring purposes. Shane Natalie started recording the first S/T LP in 2013 with the help of Evan Wolff (Vacation, Pretty Pretty) following the break up of Tight Bros in which Natalie played drums. In addition to Tight Bros and Good Shade, Natalie has performed with Lose the Tude, Puberty Wounds, Pretty Pretty and The Sidekicks. Shane has also had  the privilege to record for bands such as The Sidekicks, All Dogs, didi, Puberty Wounds, Pretty Pretty, Bomb the Music Industry and many more. He is presently an elementary Special Education teacher. The band's current touring lineup features Shane Natalie on guitar and  vocals, Patrick Matanle (Toxic Womb, Puberty Wounds) on bass guitar and Chris Mengerink (Brat Curse) on drums and vocals.

Good Shade self-released (Gut Genug Recordings) the first S/T LP (vinyl, digitally) and second LP "Breakfast" (CD, digitally). The third LP "Lunch", was released digitally through Jeff Rosenstock's Quote Unquote Records with limited vinyl distribution (125) through AF Record's Annual Record Club in addition to the remainder of the records being self-released (Gut Genug Recordings). While previous Good Shade releases have been inspired by political and social disparities, "Way Out"  primarily focuses on deteriorating mental health and increased social anxiety. True to Good Shade's nature, the album features a rock and roll combination of fast paced melodic pop punk and dark, cynical weirdness that keeps the listener engaged and curious. Though still lyrically abstract like its predecessors "Breakfast" and "Lunch", the emotions "Way Out" elicits are identifiable and take a more personal turn, exposing the confused, frustrated and somewhat troubled mind of Natalie.

"Way Out" is a tempo-varied collection of rock and pop numbers; each song consisting of unpredictable vocal melodies, bright Telecaster tone and spastic but warm drums progressions.


Track listing:

  1. Maybe
  2. We Were Wrong
  3. Must Have Been
  4. Apnea
  5. We're Open
  6. Hurry It Up
  7. Credit Score
  8. Something's Wrong
  9. 401
  10. I Don't Want Anymore
  11. Just Leave
  12. Where To