Upcoming Releases

Behind The Curtain
Downfall Behind The Curtain Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - 08:26
submitted by

Emerging out of the hardcore-heavy Richmond, VA music scene, Downfall are bringing a new rage on their upcoming album, Behind The Curtain, out July 1st on DAZE and Triple B Records. Across the ten tracks on Behind The Curtain, the band gets heavy and personal as they push their creative boundaries into an almost unhinged territory. The album was recorded in 2021 with Bob Quirk (Enforced) at Studio F12 and The Ward, mixed by Will Hirst (Gate 4 Studios) and mastered by Bill Henderson (Azimuth Studios). Out today comes the first single, “Primitive Reality”, a dark track marked by attentive percussion and shifty guitars. The song focuses on what the downfall of society could look like.

As vocalist Hunter Mowels puts it: “I often fantasize about the world ending and everyone being forced to display their true primal instincts. This song is me talking to two people: a love-all hippy and your typical tech/gentrifier type. I am describing to them a post-apocalyptic city, proving to them that even though they tried so hard to believe the world could be something different, that this is what we really are.”

Formed in 2017, Downfall has released two EPs, their 2017 Demo, and 2019’s Dead To Me. Sharing members with Combust, Mutually Assured Destruction, and Killing Pace, the band are growing to be staples in the East Coast hardcore scene and beyond. They’ll perform at Big Takeover Fest in their hometown this Saturday, May 21st alongside Terrorizer, Mindforce, Dead Heat and more, and have an upcoming Brooklyn, NY show on June 17th with The Flex and Ekulu at Gold Sounds.


Behind The Curtain track list:

  1. Descent
  2. Broken Mind
  3. Hateflow
  4. Scorn
  5. Primitive Reality
  6. Bloodline
  7. Let Me Die
  8. Confession
  9. Richmond
  10. Behind The Curtain