Upcoming Releases

Final Summer
Cloud Nothings Final Summer Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 - 20:25
submitted by

Cloud Nothings are back! Cleveland's loudest export have announced their upcoming album, Final Summer, due out April 19th from Pure Noise Records. Over the past 15 years Cloud Nothings have become part of the fabric of modern indie rock with a steady run of reliably fantastic records, and this streak continues unabated with Final Summer–an album that’s so assured, so instantly satisfying, that it forces you to pause and realize you’re listening to one of the great American rock bands in their prime.

Cloud Nothings recently shared Final Summer's title track (which garnered attention from the likes of Pitchfork, NPR, Stereogum, Paste, BrooklynVegan, Uproxx, and more) and today they've released another high voltage new single, "Running Through The Campus." It's a three minute blast of surging guitars and drums wrapped around the effortless hooks that vocalist/guitarist Dylan Baldi excels at.  

Baldi discussed the new song, saying: "I run through a college campus near my house just about every day. Occasionally it's after dark when I end up there, and the emptiness of it at night stands in stark contrast to the hectic and crowded early mornings. 'Running through the Campus' is about an intrusive thought I can have on those late-night runs, about whether or not it's slightly depressing that I'm out running around alone while everyone else is gone and actually doing something, probably with other people. The song describes my mindset at the start of my run, goes into a reckoning with and acceptance of the late night loneliness, and ends on a positive note about just doing the things that make you feel good and not getting bogged down in comparisons"

Cloud Nothings–made up of Baldi, drummer Jayson Gerycz and bassist Chris Brown–have evolved from scrappy lofi upstarts into a guitar music institution, churning out incredible songs at a rate and level of quality that few can compare to. Recorded with Jeff Zeigler (Kurt Vile, The War On Drugs, Torres, Purling Hiss), mixed by Sarah Tudzin (boygenius, Tim Heidecker, Pom Pom Squad), and mastered by Jack Callahan (Ryley Walker, Merchandise, Wolf Eyes), Final Summer offers their finest set of songs to date, perfectly capturing the mix of melody and noise that makes Cloud Nothings so special. Clocking in at a lean 29 minutes, the album is bursting with the unbridled joy that comes from playing guitars and drums loudly. This is not the work of a scrappy new band cramming all of their ideas into a debut album or grizzled veterans grinding through another release: it’s one of the tightest and most invigorating rock bands active today, driven to make the best version of themselves.


Final Summer track list:

  1. Final Summer
  2. Daggers of Light
  3. I'd Get Along
  4. Mouse Policy
  5. Silence
  6. Running Through The Campus
  7. The Golden Halo
  8. Thank Me For Playing
  9. On The Chain
  10. Common Mistake