PREMIERE: Stream Chet Wasted’s debut album ‘Raspberry’ in full
PREMIERE: Stream Chet Wasted’s debut album ‘Raspberry’ in full
Thursday, August 26, 2021 - 14:14
submitted by

We are very happy to stream Chet Wasted’s debut album ‘Raspberry’ in full. The album will be out tomorrow on Count Your Lucky Stars (pre-order). Chet Wasted is singer/multi-instrumentalist Jacob McCabe’s solo project. You might recognize McCabe from his work in Perspective, a lovely hand to hold, but his solo work exposes an entirely different set of musical roots.

“This record was a experiment to try write a song a different way and for a different reason,” says McCabe. The older I get the more I slow down and try to find the movements I can suspend and reanimate in a verse. I like the idea of where I can go with a sound like this and as difficult as it is when it’s all on you to come up with it, it’s very rewarding to hear it come together.”

On his debut album, ‘Raspberry’, airy musical arrangements move from playful and uplifting to haunting and jarring from song to song. Vocal harmonies lean heavily on some of rock's greatest superstars, paying homage to acts like the Beach Boys and Bob Dylan. Chet Wasted survives faithfully recreating a sound left behind decades past while giving it a modern spin that somehow feels restless and timeless.



Raspberry tracklist:

  1. Raspberry
  2. A Moment Captured in Time and Space
  3. The Noose
  4. Once in a While
  5. Walking in Circles
  6. Not Okay
  7. Distant Lovers
  8. Second Death
  9. Anybody Laughing
  10. Moving Backwards