Album Reviews

Try Not To Freak Out
Sløtface - Try Not To Freak Out
Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 19:07
submitted by

Following two EP’s, Norway’s Sløtface are finally releasing their debut album, “Try Not To Freak Out”. A title that we can get behind. I mean, we have two complete retards with bad haircuts practically daring each other to launch a nuclear weapon, Brexit is a thing, terrorist attacks are happening all over the place. It’s fair to say we are all trying not to freak out. Luckily, albums like this one go a long way to keep the party going.


Sløtface’s take on pop-punk is catchy, non-apologetic and fiercely defiant all at once. Take album opener “Magazine” where sweet-voiced singer Haley Shea launches an assault on the media’s portrayal of women.  Not only does it come with a party atmosphere and a totally memorable chorus, it also boasts the line ‘Patti Smith would never put up with this shit’, which is already begging to be printed on a t-shirt.


The rest of the album is nothing but more poppy anthems and more riotous cuts following one another in fast succession, all of them beefed up with big hooks and scathing social commentary up the wazøø.


Track listing:

  1. Magazine
  2. Galaxies
  3. Pitted
  4. Sun Bleached
  5. Pools
  6. Night Guilt
  7. Try
  8. Nancy Drew
  9. Slumber
  10. It’s Coming to a Point
  11. Backyard